johnleskodotbiz

On books and blogs

In Cool Ideas on January 8, 2011 at 6:51 pm

... books and blogs related to personal and professional growth.

I love books. And for the most part I read the old-fashioned paper and ink variety. At any one time I’ll have 1, 2, or 3 books in circulation with one on the night stand, another in my backpack, and a third near my favorite chair in the study.  Similarly, I also like to read select well-crafted blogs. I subscribe to Seth Godin‘s daily post.  And I regularly read Steve Davis’ Master Facilitator’s Journal.  And ‘yes’ — I hope you and others will visit, subscribe, and contribute to ‘johnleskodotbiz’ regularly (or at least semi-regularly).  I do value your feedback.  Please, read on.

Currently, I’m reading Dan Roam’s The Back of the Napkin and Garr Reynolds’ Presentation Zen. Both in there own way stress the importance of simplicity in design. Both reinforce the adage that a picture is worth way more than a 1,000 words. Both encourage the reader to think first and sketch out your ideas before rushing to create your next business presentation on slideware.  So if you wish to avoid “death by Powerpoint” or having your Keynote software license revoked.  You might want to view a ‘book brief’ of Roam’s work at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ri8E8cNf2Bw.  And for a peek at Reynold’s website see: http://www.presentationzen.com

Okay … So if you’re still reading this blog after have visited any of the URLs above, “thank you” for remembering to come back.  Do comment about any of these books or blogs.  Alternatively, feel free to suggest another author or designer or facilitator who has inspired or influenced your work.  Resolve to read and share more in 2011.

  1. Hi John, I’ll second your recommendation of Presentation Zen. It completely changed how I think about my presentations and how best to get the message across. It’s a great book for both beginners and more advanced alike. What I particularly liked was that it made me excited again to create presentations that are both fun and informative.

Leave a Reply

