johnleskodotbiz

We interrupt this blog with a Proud Papa announcement.

In Cartooning, High Touch on May 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Wow!  I could not only hear the enthusiasm but I felt the energy coming through the telephone as I spoke with my daughter last night.  She was back at the Savannah College of Art and Design having just wrapped up a trip to New York City where she was showing her portfolio to members of the Art Directors Club.  Her excitement erased the fact that we hadn’t heard from her in days.  She claimed that her cellphone showed only one bar’s worth of battery life and why should she buy a back-up charger when she could always borrow another student’s phone.

(Me) “So how’d it go?”

(Kelsey) “Great!  We showed our work to dozens of people.”

(Me) “… And?”

(Kelsey) “Massimo loved my book.”

(Me) “Who’s Massimo?”

(Kelsey) “Dad!  I don’t believe you haven’t heard of Massimo Vegnelli.  He’s a legend.”

… I then was informed of the many works of this legendary designer.  He was responsible for the NYC Subway Map, the logos for American Airlines and Bloomingdale’s, Stendig calendars, and the ubiquitous symbol signs we see identifying nearly all men’s and women’s restrooms.  Well, my daughter’s story went on and on and I learned of the other legendary or near legendary graphic designers and artists she was able to rub elbows with while in the Big Apple.

… So what’s a fellow to learn from such an experience?  Where did she get her talent?  How has SCAD improved her eye for art?  How could I tell her how proud I was of her and how happy I was that she received such a compliment from a gentleman born in Milan and practicing his art in the United States?

A proud Papa inspired by two graphic designers: MV and KL.

  1. Wow, what a creative way to show your daughter you love her! I really enjoyed the story and could almost hear her voice exclaiming surprise/indignation when you may not have known this designer. What a scream! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

