johnleskodotbiz

What would you do if you had no fear of failure?

In Cool Ideas, High Touch, leadership, Tips re: Professional Development on December 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm

A lot has happened in my life since my last blog post.  Sorry about the break in publishing.  But consider that …

  • On October 22nd I survived a major heart attack.
  • I had a stent inserted in a coronary artery via angioplasty and now swallow several pills daily to regulate things.
  • I’ve taken a nuclear stress test; running on a treadmill like the Six Million Dollar Man only to learn that the cardiologist who monitored my run wasn’t even born when Steve Austin was a popular TV character, rebuilt and fighting crime.
  • I’ve started making significant changes in diet and exercise.  I attend my cardiac rehab classes on most Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.
  • I’ve been back to the office and support again a solid set of clients.  My work with the Mid-Atlantic Facilitators Network and Toastmasters International continues in full gear.
  • My daughter and I drove cross the USA as she courageously launched her career as a graphic designer.  She currently lives a stone’s throw from the Pacific Ocean in Half Moon Bay, California.
  • My son is a Peace Corps Volunteer stationed in Cape Verde, 300 nautical miles off the west coast of Africa, and claims he can throw a different stone into the Atlantic.
  • My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary locally after having to cancel a trip to Aruba.
  • And like everyone else, we’re preparing for the Christmas and New Year holidays.

Wow!  With all this and the “wake up call” that results from such events, I find myself asking, “what would I do if I had no fear of failure?”  What projects will I start in the New Year?  Will I change the decision habits I’ve formed to redirect my life?  What are my remaining fears?  And better yet, what opportunities are there just ahead?

So in the spirit of thinking about becoming fearless, please do share how you plan to live with …

PS: It seems that I’m not alone in addressing such questions.  Check out the following URL regarding the formation of so-called FAILURE CLUBS.

PPS:  If you’re still interested, then please take the poll below.

  1. Mauler Six, I have a question. As always, you inspire me with your thoughts and words. I am particularly intrigued with your question about what to do without fear of failure. But why do that drill ? What value is there in thinking thru that scenario ?

    Your faithful,
    Killer Six

    • The ancient samurai have an expression for this “Masakatsu Agatsu.” Which translates to mean: “True Victory is Victory Over Oneself.”

      So the value of thinking thru this scenario rests with knowing and facing our fears. It’s as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

