johnleskodotbiz

It was clearly a trap. And I walked right into an ambush.

In American Sniper, Communication, Facilitating Genius on April 1, 2015 at 7:50 pm

The Girl Scout Cookie TrapI was doing so well. I had dropped 8 pounds since starting my diet and exercise program, which coincidentally was timed with the Lenten season. I had given up a few of my favorite snacks for Lent. I was outdoors more often than not going on 30, 45, 60-minute, or longer hikes along Route 234 or occasionally ventured into the woods.

And then it happened.

It was clearly a trap. And I walked right into an ambush.

One pair of girls was walking down the opposite side of the street. I noticed that they were carrying over-sized shopping bags. And on my side there was another child pulling her wagon and accompanied by her mother. The wagon was loaded with cookies.

Girl Scout cookies are the secret weapon of the diet saboteur.

Now sometimes when you walk down our street and you’re face to face with a neighbor and their large dog, the dog walkers will move into the street or shorten the leash so as to allow you to pass smoothly by. Not so with this band of mercenaries.

How did I know they were mercenaries?

They were wearing uniforms and had me in their sights.

Damn it. I had not forgotten to carry my wallet nor my iPhone.

Could I get that iPhone out in time and pretend that I was speaking to my wife, my mother, or my children?

Too late! The little blond girl quickened her pace as her mother was in support pulling that red wagon.

“Mister?!?! … Do you want to buy some Girl Scout cookies?”

Target. Cease fire.

“What’s your #1 and #2 best seller?”

“Thin Mints and Do-Si-Dos.”

“Thank you, I’ll take one of each.”

___________________

Situation Report: There a sleeve of each type cookie missing from those boxes.

Drat! And I didn’t even make it to Easter, let alone Good Friday.

Juliette Gordon Low was a sales genius.

She created a army of irresistibly successful future entrepreneurs.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

